Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine

National Academy of Sciences

Alfred Newton Richards, elected 1927

Alfred Newton Richards

Alfred Newton Richards, PhD, proved kidneys filter blood by inventing glomerular micropuncture, was the first to employ inulin to study glomerular filtration rate and determined that renal tubules secreted or reabsorbed various substances in processing final urine. President Franklin D. Roosevelt appointed him to head the Committee on Medical Research during World War II. In that role, Richards put penicillin in production as a therapeutic agent. He served appointed professor of Pharmacology at Northwestern University Medical School starting in 1908.


Stephen Walter Ranson, elected 1940

Stephen Walter Ranson

Stephen Walter Ranson, MD, PhD, was one of the most distinguished neuroanatomist of the early 20th Century and Director of the Institute of Neurology at the medical school in the 1930s. He and his colleagues mapped the unmyelinated fibers of the spinal ganglia and explored the structure and function of the hypothalamus, particularly as it relates to emotion, position in space, water balance, temperature regulation, sympathetic response, and the rhythm of sleep. He taught many medical students through his influential textbook, The Anatomy of the Nervous System.


Hans Popper, elected 1976

Hans Popper

Hans Popper, MD, PhD, is widely regarded as the father of hepatology. After completing his service in World War II in 1949, Popper was appointed associate professor of pathology at Northwestern University Medical School. He published more than 800 papers with a focus on the liver in health and disease and became a founding member of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases.


Laszlo Lorand, elected 1987

Laszlo Lorand

Laszlo Lorand, PhD, and his collaborators made discoveries that laid the foundation for the molecular understanding of the clotting of fibrinogen in blood. This led to the reconstruction of the physiological process as well as to the diagnosis of unusual bleeding disorders. His work served as a foundation for studying protein cross-linking in aging cells. He was the first director of a National Institutes of Health-funded Biochemistry Training Program and is a founding member of the Department of Cell & Developmental Biology.


Edwin Taylor, elected 2001

Edwin Taylor

Edwin Taylor, PhD, adjunct professor of Cell & Developmental Biology, made significant contributions to understanding the biochemistry of muscle contraction and cytoskeletal research. His investigations provided the first kinetic model describing how molecular motors convert chemical energy into mechanical force. He discovered several molecular cell motors, some of which assist in the motility of certain white blood cells, and showed how actin and myosin induce movement in non-muscle cells.


Patricia Spear, elected 2002

Patricia Spear

Patricia Spear, PhD, identified the mechanisms the herpes simplex virus types 1 and 2 use to enter cells. She also characterized the cell surface carbohydrates and proteins required for penetration of human cells and viral spread by cell-cell fusion. She is professor emeritus in Microbiology-Immunology.


Robert Lamb, elected 2003

Robert Lamb

Robert Lamb, PhD, is a professor of Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and of Microbiology-Immunology. He studies the replication and pathogenesis of influenza virus and paramyxoviruses, specifically virus-mediated membrane fusion, the action of protein-selective ion channels, enveloped virus assembly and how these viruses defeat innate immunity.


Gary Borisy, elected 2009

Gary Borisy

In 1965, Gary Borisy, PhD, discovered the protein tubulin, which comprises a key part of the cell's cytoskeleton. He provided important insights into chromosome movement and the role of the protein actin, a major component of cell motility, and the dynamics of microtubules, filaments that help direct cell division. Borisy, now an adjunct professor, was previously associate vice president for research and the Leslie B. Arey Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology.


Chad A. Mirkin, elected 2010

Chad A. Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin, PhD, director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry and professor of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine, is a world-renowned nanoscience expert. He is known for the development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and contributions to supramolecular chemistry, nanoelectronics and nano-optics. He is the author of more than 440 manuscripts and over 400 patents and applications and is the founder of three nanotechnology companies. He holds membership in the National Academies of Science, Engineering, Inventors and Medicine.


John A. Rogers, elected 2015

John A. Rogers

John A. Rogers, PhD, is internationally known for designing and developing classes of electronic devices that can bend, stretch and twist, be integrated with the human body and have diverse diagnostic and therapeutic function. His research spans disciplines and exploits novel approaches to problems with the potential to change the fields of industrial, consumer and biocompatible electronics. He is a professor of Neurological Surgery. He is a member of the National Academies of Engineering, Inventors, and Sciences, as well as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.