Skip to main content

National Academy of Inventors

Chad A. Mirkin, elected 2013

Chad A. Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin, PhD, director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry and professor of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine, is a world-renowned nanoscience expert. He is known for the development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and contributions to supramolecular chemistry, nanoelectronics and nano-optics. He is the author of more than 440 manuscripts and over 400 patents and applications and is the founder of three nanotechnology companies. He holds membership in the National Academies of Science, Engineering, Inventors and Medicine.

John A. Rogers, elected 2013

John A. Rogers

John A. Rogers, PhD, is internationally known for designing and developing classes of electronic devices that can bend, stretch and twist, be integrated with the human body and have diverse diagnostic and therapeutic function. His research spans disciplines and exploits novel approaches to problems with the potential to change the fields of industrial, consumer and biocompatible electronics. He is a professor of Neurological Surgery. He is a member of the National Academies of Engineering, Inventors, Medicine and Sciences, as well as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Teresa K. Woodruff, elected 2017

Teresa K. Woodruff

Teresa K. Woodruff, PhD, is an expert in ovarian biology. She is the Thomas J. Watkins Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, the vice chair of research and the chief of the Division of Reproductive Science in Medicine in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, the director of the Center for Reproductive Science, founder and director of the Women’s Health Research Institute, and director of the Oncofertility Consortium. She is a member of the National Academies of Medicine and Inventors and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Elizabeth M. McNally, elected 2018

Elizabeth M. McNally

Elizabeth McNally, MD, PhD, the Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine and director of the Center for Genetic Medicine, investigates the genetic mechanisms responsible for inherited human diseases including heart failure, cardiomyopathy, muscular dystrophy, arrhythmias and aortic aneurysms.  McNally’s contributions to genome analysis have bettered understanding of rare genetic variation, allowing identification of genes that modify the outcomes of genetic diseases. She is a professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology, and of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics. She is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, National Academy of Inventors and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Samuel I. Stupp, elected 2018

Samuel I. Stupp

Samuel I. Stupp, PhD, studies nanostructures and materials with emphasis in regenerative medicine, organic electronics, solar energy and cancer therapies. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2012 for his work on the biomedical applications of self-assembled polymers. He is director of the Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology and professor of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Molecular Medicine in the Department of Medicine. He is a member of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Inventors, and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Guillermo A. Ameer, elected 2019

Guillermo A. Ameer

Guillermo Ameer, ScD, is the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of biomedical engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science and of Surgery at the Feinberg School of Medicine. Ameer develops biomaterials and nanotechnology for regenerative engineering, tissue engineering, medical devices, drug delivery, and cell delivery applications.


Susan Quaggin, elected 2021

Susan Quaggin

Susan Quaggin, MD, is the Charles Horace Mayo Professor, Chief of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension in the Department of Medicine, and Director of the Feinberg Cardiovascular and Renal Research Institute. A vascular biologist by training, she conducts basic and translational research on blood vessels to find new therapeutic targets for vascular health, particularly in the kidney, heart and eye. Leading the George M. O’Brien Kidney Center, she and collaborators are attempting to bioengineer new organs in a dish.