Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine

National Academy of Medicine

George D. Lundberg, elected 1992

George D. Lundberg

George D. Lundberg, MD, clinical professor of Pathology, is recognized internationally for his work in tropical medicine and forensic medicine. He is widely regarded as an early pioneer of the medical internet. For 17 years, Lundberg served as the editorial lead on 39 American Medical Association medical journals, “American Medical News” and various internet products.


Thomas E. Starzl, elected 1999

Thomas E. Starzl

Thomas E. Starzl, MD ‘52, PhD ’52, known as the father of transplantation, performed the first successful liver transplant in 1967 at the University of Colorado. Starzl also conducted the first multiple organ transplant in 1983, the first heart and liver transplant in 1984 and the first liver and intestine transplant in 1990. In 1980, he introduced the anti-rejection medications anti-lymphocyte globulin and cyclosporine. He was instrumental in developing tacrolimus, a drug that significantly increased post-transplantation survival rates.


Michael Fleming, elected 2005

Michael Fleming

Michael Fleming, MD, MPH, professor of Family and Community Medicine and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has served as the principal investigator on more than a dozen National Institutes of Health grants and contracts related to behavioral interventions in community-based primary care practices. Fleming has published more than 135 peer-reviewed research papers in more than 40 publications since 2005. In 2005, he was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. 


J. Larry Jameson, elected 2005

J. Larry Jameson

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD, served as chair of the Department of Medicine from 2000 to 2007, when he was named vice president for medical affairs and dean of the medical school. He has a long-standing interest in the genetics of endocrine tumors and possible approaches to their treatment. He has published more than 250 scientific articles and co-edited the fourth and the fifth editions of the authoritative text, “DeGroot and Jameson’s Endocrinology.”


Chad A. Mirkin, elected 2010

Chad A. Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin, PhD, director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry and professor of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine, is a world-renowned nanoscience expert. He is known for the development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and contributions to supramolecular chemistry, nanoelectronics and nano-optics. He is the author of more than 440 manuscripts and over 400 patents and applications and is the founder of three nanotechnology companies. He holds membership in the National Academies of Science, Engineering, Inventors and Medicine.


David J. Skorton, elected 2010

David J. Skorton

David J. Skorton, MD, is the secretary of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C. He graduated from Northwestern University in 1970 and the Feinberg School of Medicine in 1974. He received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Feinberg School of Medicine in 2009.


Serdar E. Bulun, elected 2015

Serdar E. Bulun

Serdar E. Bulun, MD, chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology, is widely recognized for pioneering molecular medicine in the field of gynecology. He discovered the epigenetic basis of endometriosis and introduced aromatase inhibitors as a novel class of drugs to effectively treat it. He has also contributed significantly to the systems biology of hormone-responsive disorders of the breast, including cancer.


Susan Skochelak, elected 2015

Susan Skochelak

Susan Skochelak, MD, MPH, is an adjunct professor of Family and Community Medicine and a nationally recognized authority in medical education. She serves as the group vice president for medical education at the American Medical Association, where she leads the strategic initiative “Accelerating Change in Medical Education,” and created the AMA Center to Transform Medical Education. 


Melina Kibbe, elected 2016

Melina Kibbe

Melina Kibbe, MD, ’03 GME, is an expert in the treatment of carotid stenosis, peripheral vascular disease and abdominal aortic aneurysms. From 2011-2016, she served as deputy director of Northwestern’s Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology and vice chair of the Department of Surgery. Northwestern recognized Kibbe for her outstanding talents as an educator of the next generation of surgeons, honoring her with 18 awards for teaching excellence.


Clyde W. Yancy, elected 2016

Clyde W. Yancy

Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, is vice dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Magerstadt Professor and chief of Cardiology in the Department of Medicine and professor of Medical Social Sciences. He is also a former president of the American Heart Association, a member of the National Academy of Medicine and an internationally-recognized expert in preventive cardiology, cardiomyopathy, and racial and ethnic disparities in cardiovascular disease.


Teresa K Woodruff, elected 2018

Teresa K Woodruff

Teresa K. Woodruff, PhD, is an expert in ovarian biology. She is the Thomas J. Watkins Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, the vice chair of research and the chief of the Division of Reproductive Science in Medicine in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, the director of the Center for Reproductive Science, founder and director of the Women’s Health Research Institute, and director of the Oncofertility Consortium. She is a member of the National Academies of Medicine and Inventors.