Skip to main content
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Faculty Mentor of the Year Award

2019 Winners

Tamara Isakova, MD, MMSc, associate professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension and director of the Center for Translational Metabolism and Health within the Institute for Public Health and Medicine (IPHAM), and John Varga, MD, director of the Northwestern Scleroderma Program and the John and Nancy Hughes Distinguished Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology

2018 Winners

Mercedes Carnethon, PhD, chief of Epidemiology and vice chair of the Department of Preventive Medicine

Erin Hsu, PhD, research associate professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Wellington Hsu, MD, Clifford C. Raisbeck, MD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

2017 Winners

Rowland W. Chang, MD, MPH Professor of Preventive Medicine in the Division of Epidemiology Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Claus-Peter Richter, MD, PhD Professor of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Professor of Biomedical Engineering Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Mentor of the Year Award

The Medical Faculty Council (MFC) established the Mentor of the Year Award in 2008 to:

  • Recognize and celebrate the importance of mentorship within the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine academic community
  • Encourage all departments and divisions to actively support and promote mentoring among their members
  • Acknowledge established faculty members who foster the professional growth of junior, less experienced faculty to help them achieve their full potential

Each year, the MFC recognizes up to two faculty members with an award. These two annual Mentor of the Year award recipients will typically represent two different areas of mentorship at Feinberg (e.g., clinical care, basic science, clinical or social research). Recipients are announced on Feinberg's annual Lewis Landsberg Research Day, are recognized with a monetary award, and their names and the date are engraved on a plaque located in the Dean's office. In addition, the awardees will have the opportunity to share their mentoring tips and stories at a mentoring workshop. Learn what makes a great mentor.


Please contact

Past Mentor of the Year Winners

Diane B. Wayne, MD
Kenzie A. Cameron, PhD, MPH

Jonathan D. Licht, MD

David Engman, MD, PhD

Ram Yogev, MD

D. Mark Courtney, MD

Stephen Miller, PhD

Jack Kessler, MD

H. Steven (Hank) Seifert, PhD

A. Todd Davis, MD

Kiang Liu, PhD

Stanford Shulman, MD

Teresa Woodruff, PhD

William Pearce, MD