Skip to main content


During our annual Honors Day celebration in May and at various times throughout the year, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine awards the following named prizes to students who have excelled in medical school and/or have completed a specific research or community project. This list consists of prizes that are awarded by dean’s administration. 

The Julius Conn Jr., MD, Award 

Established in June of 2005. This award was created to honor the memory of the late Dr. Julius Conn Jr., a vascular surgeon at the medical school. This award is presented to students with outstanding performance in their surgery clerkship.

The Harry W. Linde Honors Program Research Fellowship Fund 

Established to provide support for an Honors Program in Medical Education (HPME) student to perform research at Northwestern during the summer before matriculating to medical school.

The John P. Phair Award 

Established to honor Dr. John Phair, a longtime and distinguished faculty member of the Feinberg School of Medicine. This award is given to a fourth-year medical student who excels in their infectious disease rotation in terms of both the intellectual and human sides of medicine.

The Phi Rho Sigma Dennis Award 

Established by the medical school’s Phi Rho Sigma fraternity and is funded through a generous gift that was provided by Dr. George J. Dennis in 1944. This prize is awarded to a medical student for their outstanding performance during third-year clerkships.

The Jonathan Philip Reder Award 

Established in 1988 by Dr. Reder’s parents, Mrs. Sheila Stone and Mr. William Reder. This award is presented annually in memory of the late Jonathan Reder, a member of the HPME Class of 1986. It is awarded to a fourth-year HPME student who has shown continued interest and accomplishment in areas outside of medicine and with at least one special focus, and who, like Jonathan, has been involved in In Vivo, the medical school’s annual variety show.

The Dr. Arthur and Mrs. Elaine Sherman HPME International Travel Fund 

Established in 2009 by Dr. Scott Sherman to honor his parents and to support an HPME student interested in international research and travel.

The Frederick and Harriett Stenn Fund for Humanism in Medicine

Established in 1981 by Mrs. Harriet Stenn and is awarded annually to a graduating fourth-year student who demonstrates humanism and compassion in the practice of medicine.

The Dr. Neil Stone Award for Northwestern Medical Students 

Established in 2007 by Mr. Newton Minow to honor his primary care physician, Dr. Neil Stone. This prize is awarded to a fourth-year medical student in recognition of their exemplary commitment to professionalism and compassion in medicine.

The Kenneth M. Viste Jr., MD, Award 

Established in 2005. This award was created by the Northwestern University Medical Alumni Association's National Board in memory of the late Dr. Kenneth Viste, an esteemed member of the Class of 1966.