Skip to main content

Faculty Recognition 2021-22

The Department of Medical Education is pleased to recognize the following faculty members who were nominated by MD students during the 2021-22 academic year for demonstrating exemplary professionalism. Faculty are listed below by department. Names marked with an asterisk received three or more nominations. Congratulations to those who were named and thank you to all of our dedicated faculty members for their commitment to teaching. 


  • Joshua Halpern


  • Paul Tamul

 Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry

  • Gabriel Heiber Bendayan*

 Emergency Medicine

  • James Adams
  • John Bailitz*
  • Paul DeJulio
  • Matthew Kippenhan
  • Matthew Klein
  • L. Michael Lee
  • Peter Pruitt
  • Robert Turelli, Jr.
  • David Zull

 Family and Community Medicine

  • Rosanne Vasiloff*
  • Nanajan Yakoub*


  • Ali Ahmed (Hospital Medicine)
  • Marina Arvanitis (General Internal Medicine)
  • Alka Basil (Hospital Medicine)
  • Kimbra Bell (General Internal Medicine)
  • Jennifer Bierman (General Internal Medicine)*
  • Darren Boyd (Hospital Medicine)
  • Sara Bradley (Geriatrics)
  • David Burstein (General Internal Medicine)
  • Maya Defoe (Hospital Medicine)
  • Ami Desai (General Internal Medicine)
  • Brigid Dolan (General Internal Medicine)
  • Daniel Evans (General Internal Medicine)
  • Matthew Feinstein (Cardiology)
  • David Fox (General Internal Medicine)
  • Khalilah Gates (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • David Goese (Hospital Medicine)
  • Ibrahim Hakim (Hospital Medicine)
  • Bruce Henschen (General Internal Medicine)
  • Joanne Kirby (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Christopher Konstantelos (General Internal Medicine)
  • Kyle Kunz (General Internal Medicine)
  • Tara Lagu (Hospital Medicine)
  • Reza Sedighi Manesh (Hospital Medicine)
  • Gary Martin (General Internal Medicine)*
  • June McKoy (Geriatrics)
  • Christopher Miller (General Internal Medicine)
  • Anita Mulye (Hospital Medicine)
  • R. Mutharson (Cardiology)
  • Natasha Nichols (Hospital Medicine)
  • John Nicolas (General Internal Medicine)*
  • Joshua Owen (General Internal Medicine)
  • Frank Palella (Infectious Diseases)
  • James Paparello (Nephrology and Hypertension)*
  • Michelle Prickett (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Mirela Savcic (General Internal Medicine)
  • Jordan Scharping (Hospital Medicine)
  • Hiren Shah (Hospital Medicine)
  • Marianne Tschoe (Hospital Medicine)
  • Patrick Tosetti (General Internal Medicine)
  • Toshiko Uchida (General Internal Medicine)
  • Joanna Vakros (Hospital Medicine)
  • Catherine Yi (General Internal Medicine)
  • David Young (Hospital Medicine)
  • Michael Zielinski (General Internal Medicine)


  • Gregory Smith


  • Carolyn Bevan (MS/Neuroimmunology)
  • Katherine Carroll (Comprehensive Neurology)*
  • Neena Cherayil (Ken and Ruth Davee Department)
  • Yvonne Curran (Stroke and Vascular Neurology)
  • Sam Ung Ho (Comprehensive Neurology)
  • Minjee Kim (Neurocritical Care)
  • Rimas Lukas (Neuro-oncology)
  • Micheal Macken (Epilepsy/Clinical Neurophysiology)
  • Roneil Malkani (Sleep Medicine)
  • Aditi Narechania (Epilepsy/Clinical Neurophysiology)
  • Alan Shepard (Comprehensive Neurology)*
  • Sebastian Urday (Stroke and Vascular Neurology)
  • Stephen VanHaerents (Epilepsy/Clinical Neurophysiology)
  • Margaret Yu

 Obstetric Anesthesiology

 Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Mary Arlandson
  • Weronika Armstrong (General Obstetrics and Gynecology)
  • Emma Barber (Gynecologic Oncology)
  • Carol Bretschneider (Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery/Urogynecology)
  • Angela Chaudhari (Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery)
  • Carolyn Davis
  • Melissa Dugan-Kim
  • Nancy Grady
  • Jessica Kiley (General Obstetrics and Gynecology)
  • Marybeth Lore (General Obstetrics and Gynecology)
  • Melinda Lukens
  • Wilberto Nieves-Neira*
  • Mia Norlin
  • Bethany Stetson (Maternal Fetal Medicine)
  • Edward Tanner, III (Gynecologic Oncology)
  • Susan Tsai (Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery)
  • Joy Ungaretti
  • Princess Urbina (Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery)
  • Amber Watters (General Obstetrics and Gynecology)

 Orthopaedic Surgery

  • Chirag Shah
  • Linda Suleiman


  • Nina Alfieri (Advanced General Pediatrics and Primary Care)
  • Lee Bass (Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition)
  • Irwin Benuck (Community Based Primary Care)
  • Alyssa Cohen
  • Matthew Davis (Advanced General Pediatrics and Primary Care)
  • David Dobkin (Community Based Primary Care)
  • Theresa Laguna (Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine)
  • Sue Hong Routson (Critical Care)
  • Amir Jahanshad
  • Kiley Johnson (Hospital-Based Medicine)
  • Vamshi Rao (Neurology and Epilepsy)
  • David Ritacco (Neurology and Epilepsy)
  • Victoria Rodriguez (Hospital-Based Medicine)
  • Susan Sirota
  • Michael Spewak (Hospital-Based Medicine)*
  • Sonia Sterrett (Community Based Primary Care)
  • Priya Verghese (Nephrology)
  • Shoshana Waskow (Community Based Primary Care)
  • Sigrid Wolf (Pediatric Sports Medicine)

 Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

  • Nenad Brkic
  • David Chen
  • Khushboo Doshi
  • Benjamin Friedman*
  • Priya Mhatre
  • Matthew Oswald
  • Sangeeta Patel
  • Elliot Roth

 Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

  • Danielle Anderson (General Psychiatry)
  • Cara Angelotta (Forensic Psychiatry)
  • Richard Cockerill*
  • Eugene Cozza
  • Maria Gunaratnam
  • Brandon Hamm (Consultation Liaison Psychiatry)
  • Robert Lloyd, Jr. (Consultation Liaison Psychiatry)
  • Khushbu Shah (Child and Adolescent Psychiatry)


  • Kevin Bethke (Breast Surgery)
  • Andrei Churyla (Cardiac Surgery)
  • Daniel Davila (Gastrointestinal)
  • Jeffrey Fronza (Gastrointestinal)
  • Julia Grabowski (Pediatric General Surgery)
  • Rashmi Kabre (Pediatric General Surgery)
  • Swati Kulkarni (Breast Surgery)
  • Michael McGee (Gastrointestinal)
  • Ryan Merkow (Surgical Oncology)
  • Satish Nadig (Organ Transplantation)
  • David Odell (Thoracic Surgery)
  • Joseph Posluszny, Jr (Trauma and Critical Care)*
  • Clark Schierle (Plastic Surgery)
  • Dinee Simpson (Organ Transplantation)
  • Leah Tatebe (Trauma and Critical Care)
  • Jeffrey Wayne (Surgical Oncology)


  • Robert Brannigan 
  • Hayley Silver