Skip to main content

Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD

Hossein  Ardehali, MD, PhD

Hossein Ardehali, MD, PhD has been Director of the MSTP since 2017. Dr. Ardehali has a longstanding relationship with the program: prior to being named director, he served for six years as an associate director of the MSTP and chaired its admissions committee for ten years. As Director, Dr. Ardehali supervises all program activities, takes a central role in student recruitment, leads program assessment and evaluation efforts, and consults with MSTP associate directors and staff on a regular basis to monitor the program and address issues that may arise. He meets frequently with MSTP stakeholders across campus, including the FSM Office of Medical Education, the FSM Dean of Research, and the various MSTP subcommittees and student groups, to remain informed about issues related to student training and to share updates about the program. He is an active and dedicated mentor to all MSTP students and has adopted an open-door advising policy to ensure students feel comfortable reaching out with any questions or concerns.

Dr. Ardehali graduated from the Medical Scientist Training Program at Vanderbilt University in 1998 and completed an Internal Medicine residency and Cardiology fellowship at Johns Hopkins University. After a brief time on faculty at Hopkins, Dr. Ardehali was recruited to Northwestern in 2005 and is currently professor of Pharmacology and Medicine in the Division of Cardiology and Pharmacology and Thomas D. Spies Professor of Cardiac Metabolism. He is also the director of the Center for Molecular Cardiology. His research involves the role of iron, mitochondria and metabolic processes in cardiovascular disease and cancer.

Dr. Ardehali has received numerous awards, including the American Heart Association (AHA) Basic Cardiovascular Scientist Young Investigator Award, the Jeremiah Stamler Distinguished Young Investigator Award, Glaxo Smith Kline International Competitive Grant Awards for Young Investigators, and a Schweppe Foundation Award. He is a fellow of the AHA, the American College of Cardiology, and the International Society for Heart Research and serves on several AHA committees. He was inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) in 2012 and served as the president of the Society during the 2021-2022 academic year. He also served as the chair of the Young Physician-Scientist Committee of ASCI for two years and as Secretary-Treasurer of the Society for another two years. He was inducted into Association of American Physicians (AAP) in 2018. His research is funded by several awards, including four active NIH grants. He has mentored more than 30 students and postdoctoral trainees in his lab.