Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Institute for Public Health and Medicine

NU-PATIENT K12 Faculty Scholars Training Program

March 20, 2014

We are delighted to announce the launching of a new Northwestern institutional career development program, the Northwestern University-Patient-centered Intervention and Engagement Training (NU-PATIENT) K12 Faculty Scholars Training Program.  This AHRQ-funded NU-PATIENT K12 program is designed to support the early research career development of junior faculty who will be engaged in patient-centered outcomes and comparative effectiveness research. Scholars will train in methods around the broad themes of patient-centered intervention (i.e., patient-centered outcomes: Measurement and application, clinical trials and/or health systems change) and/or patient engagement and activation (i.e. health literacy and communication, risk analysis and decision science and/or e-health/m-health. David Cella, PhD, NU-PATIENT PI, will lead the program along with an executive committee comprised of leading PCOR faculty from IPHAM, NUCATS and the IPR Q Center. Scholars will be supported in a rich training environment including a mentoring team (primary mentor, co-mentor and patient adviser) and four training cores drawing on existing centers in IPHAM, NUCATS and the IPR Q-Center. Scholars will typically receive a two year award, with the possibility of a third year, and a minimum of 75% of effort required.  The first class of scholars will be admitted for 9/1/14.  Notices for the next application cycle will be circulated in the Spring of 2015.

See details of the NU-PATIENT K12 program information, application requirements, and mentor profiles.

For additional questions, please contact Ms. Julie Kay at

Center:Patient-Centered Outcomes

Sponsor:Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)

Principal Investigator:
David Cella, PhD

Executive Committee:
David Cella, PhD (Chair)
David Baker, MD, MPH (Research Director)
Jane Holl, MD, MPH (Didactics Training Director)
Frank Penedo, PhD (Experiential Training Director)
Clyde Yancy, MD
Rowland Chang, MD, MPH
Ronald Ackermann, MD, MPH
Laurie Wakschlag, PhD (Evaluation Committee Chair)