Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Dermatology

Combined Medicine-Dermatology Residency

The McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University Combined Medicine-Dermatology Residency Program is designed to prepare residents for careers in both Internal Medicine and Dermatology.  Upon successful completion of the combined program, residents will be eligible for the certifying exams in each specialty and will be well prepared for advanced training, fellowships, or careers in either field.

This five-year program features splits time evenly in the Internal Medicine and Dermatology residency training programs.  Our learning and teaching style emphasizes:

Each resident has graded responsibilities in Medicine and Dermatology throughout the training, including weekly continuity clinics in Medicine (PGY-1), in both Medicine and Dermatology (PGY-2 and PGY-3), and in Dermatology (PGY-4 and PGY-5).  Curriculum is based on the six core competencies set by the ACGME:

Year One

The first year of training allows the resident to develop a strong background in Internal Medicine. Specifically, the intern learns to:

Year Two

The second year of the program provides an emphasis in Dermatology. The resident:

Years Three through Five

The upper level years are divided equally between the two departments. 

Curriculum Update

In 2011, the Medicine-Dermatology residency curriculum was redesigned to optimize the flow between the two specialties during the course of training. Updates include:

Application Process

One position is offered annually. First-year positions are selected through the National Resident Matching Program.  Four letters of recommendation are required: 

The program number for the Internal Medicine-Dermatology residency program on Electronic Resident Application Service is 7851644007.

Contact Us

Contact our residency program coordinators for more information on the Medicine-Dermatology Residency Program.

Program Coordinator
Department of Dermatology

Phone: 312-695-7932
Fax: 312-695-0664

Kim Dow
Department of Medicine

Phone: 312-926-9356
Fax: 312-926-6905

Program Directors


Maria L. Colavincenzo, MD
Co-Program Director

Assistant Professor of Dermatology

Aashish Didwania

Aashish Didwania, MD
Co-Program Director

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Current Residents

Namita Jain, MD

Namita Jain, MD - PGY5

Med-Derm Chief

Lida Zheng, MD

Lida Zheng, MD - PGY4

Andrew Para

Andrew Para, MD - PGY4

Parul Goyal

Parul Goyal, MD - PGY1