Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Dermatology


The Dermatopathology Fellowship Program of McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University is committed to the training of excellent dermatopathologists who will eventually strive for continued dedication to and enrichment of the field.

The fellowship is the joint efforts of the Departments of Dermatology and Pathology at Northwestern University, each having ACGME-accredited residency programs in Dermatology and Anatomic and Clinical Pathology, as well as fellowships in subspecialties of both disciplines. This dynamic interface provides a myriad of opportunities for research and teaching material for the fellow.

Dermatopathology Program

One fellow is selected every two years. The first year is primarily dedicated to research and the second year is dedicated to the fulfillment of core requirements for general dermatology/pathology and dermatopathology, and can are dependent on the fellow’s background.

The ACGME requires accreditation for 12 months of core rotations. The fellow also works in conjunction with the clinical dermatologists, dermatopathologists and anatomic and clinical pathologists at Northwestern’s Departments of Dermatology and Pathology.

For our complete program listing, please refer to the FREIDA Online database.

Application Process

This is a two-year program. Our 2020-2022 fellowship position has been filled. We will be accepting applications for the 2022 fellowship from Jan. 1 through March 31, 2020.

Application components required are:

Please send all hardcopy original documentation preferably in one package following address. Letters of recommendation may be included in this package, but should be in sealed envelopes from your letter writer.
Program Coordinator
Northwestern Medical Group
Department of Dermatology
676 North St. Clair, Suite 1600
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Phone: 312-695-7932

Joan Guitart

Joan Guitart, MD
Program Director
Director of the Dermatopathology Laboratory

Current Fellow

2016-2018: Timothy VandenBoom, MD

2017-2018: Tiffany S. Nelson, MD

2018-2020: Timothy Tan, DO

Housestaff Research Portal

Feinberg has the infrastructure and resources to assist McGaw trainees interested in conducting scientific research. Visit our Housestaff Research Portal to learn more.