## 2017 Award Winners

The 13th Annual Lewis Landsberg Research Day



### Public Health and Social Science Research

### First Place: Lauren Gard, MPH, research project coordinator

"The Northwestern and Access Community Heath Network medication education study"

### Second Place: Lindsay Pool, PhD, AHA postdoctoral fellow

"Cardiovascular Preventive Service Use Trends During Affordable Care Act Implementation"

#### Third Place: Amy Curtis, MD, resident in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

"Social information processing ability and change in cigarette smoking during pregnancy: Testing a novel social-cognitive-affiliative model of health behavior change"

#### Clinical Research

### First place: Brian Joyce, PhD, postdoctoral fellow

"DNA methylation of telomere biology genes and cancer risk"

#### Second Place, Jacob Kresovich, PhD, postdoctoral fellow

"Therapeutic targeting of polycomb and BET bromodomain proteins in DIPG"

#### Third Place, Julianne Ubago, MD, fellow in Pathology

"PD-1 and PD-L1 expression in HER2-positive breast carcinomas"

## Basic Science Research

## First place: David Barefield, PhD, postdoctoral fellow

"Novel myofilament component MYBPHL is implicated in arrhythmia and DCM"

## Second Place: Andrea Piunti, PhD, postdoctoral research fellow

"Therapeutic targeting of polycomb and BET bromodomain proteins in DIPG"

## Third Place: Patricia Brazee, graduate student

"LUBAC Mediated Epithelial Signaling During Influenza Infection"



## **Education Research**

#### First place: Jackson Herzog, third-year medical student

"Impact of a longitudinal primary care clerkship on patient outcomes"

Second: David Salzman,'05 MD, '09 GME, assistant professor of Emergency Medicine and Medical Education

"EPA simulation-based mastery learning capstone course"

Third: Celia O'Brien, PhD, instructor of Medical Education, and Marianne Green, MD, senior associate dean for Medical Education

"Utilizing nurses to assess students' professionalism, communication, and teamwork skills"

## Award for Excellence in Women's Health Research, Basic Science

Deborah Ikhena, MD, MPH, fellow in reproductive endocrinology and infertility "Rank-Fc inhibits leiomyoma tumor growth in vivo"

# Award for Excellence in Women's Health Research, Clinical Research, Education or Public Health

Luis Blanco, Jr., MD, assistant professor of Pathology "PD-L1 Expression in Tumor Infiltrating Lymphocytes in Pregnancy-Associated Breast Cancer"

## ARCC Community-Engaged Research Partnership Award

"Pastors4PCOR: Engaging Faith Based Communities in Health Research"
This project is a partnership between the teams of Rebecca Johnson, PhD, a research assistant professor of Medical Social Sciences, Paris Davis, PhD, MBA, project lead for Pastors for 4 PCOR, Dianna Ingram, PhD, MPH, assistant professor at Rush University Medical Center and 12 churches serving underrepresented populations in Chicago and South Suburban areas.



## Tripartite Legacy Faculty Prize in Translational Science and Education

Richard M. Pope, MD, Solovy-Arthritis Research Society Professor and professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology

## Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards

Rowland Chang, MD, MPH, professor of Preventive Medicine, Medicine, and Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, and Claus-Peter Richter, MD, PhD, professor of Otolaryngology

