Skip to main content
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Endowed Professors Honored at Annual Luncheon

From left to right: Jeffrey Linder, ’97 MD, MPH, Michael A. Gertz Professor of Medicine and chief of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics in the Department of Medicine; Mercedes Carnethon, PhD, Mary Harris Thompson Professor and chief of Epidemiology in the Department of Preventive Medicine; and Clyde Yancy, MD, Magerstadt Professor and chief of Cardiology in the Department of Medicine.

On February 12, endowed professors on Feinberg’s faculty gathered at Chicago’s Newberry Library for a luncheon that thanked and honored them for their contributions to healthcare, medical education, and scientific discovery.  

A named and endowed professorship represents the highest honor a university can bestow upon its faculty. These titles recognize the most distinguished and productive physicians and scientists and help Feinberg continue to recruit and retain leaders in medicine. The medical school is proud to have 179 endowed professorships for our most accomplished faculty, including 72 established since the start of We Will. The Campaign for Northwestern Medicine

Every year since 2012, the event has taken place at a different Chicago landmark, as a visible reminder of Northwestern’s connection to the city. Previous locations include the Chicago History Museum, the Chicago Cultural Center, and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. 

While the luncheon has become an occasion for faculty to catch up and share ideas with each other, it is also an opportunity for them to engage with the city’s broader intellectual community and to hear from a professional outside of healthcare. This year’s presenter was David Spadafora, president of the Newberry Library and a historian of European thought, who spoke about the institution’s own medical department, which was open from 1890 to 1906.

See photos from the event.

Learn more about Feinberg’s named professorships.