Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science


The Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science includes a monetary prize of $200,000 and is awarded biennially. As a condition of the award, the recipient of the Nemmers Prize will deliver a public lecture and participate in other scholarly activities at Northwestern University. Northwestern is now accepting nominations for the 2018 prize.


  • Candidacy for the 2018 Nemmers Prize is open to physician-scientists whose body of research exhibits outstanding achievement in their disciplines as demonstrated by works of lasting significance. Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations were eligible except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.
  • Winners will participate in the various on-site scholarly activities associated with the award.

 Selection Process

Nominations are submitted via this website. Eight to 10 nominations will be selected for review by a panel of three external (not employed by Feinberg or Northwestern University) jurors. From these finalists, the jury panel will select a winner.

 Important Dates

Nominations for the 2018 prize are being accepted through November 1, 2017. The winner will be announced in Spring 2018.

 Contact Us

For questions on nomination submissions, please contact us at