Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Diversity and Inclusion

FSM Diversity and Inclusion Council

Our Diversity and Inclusion Council helps to shape the strategy of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. From the programs we initiate to the ways in which we engage alumni, students, and the community, our council members provide tremendous insight, guidance, and oversight. Meet our members below, and feel free to contact us to learn more about the role this council serves.

Jabbar BennettAssociate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer Associate Professor of
Virginia BishopAssistant Professor of Preventive Medicine-Behavioral

Juan Caicedo

Associate Professor of Surgery-Transplant Surgery

Hector Cajigas

Assistant Professor, Medicine Pulmonary

Mercedes Carnethon

Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine-Epidemiology

Tatiana Carrasquilla

MD, M1

Richard D'Aquila

Professor of Medicine-Infectious Diseases

Berkley Davis

MD, M2, Student Senate Representative

John Franklin

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Surgery-Organ Transplantation and Medical Education- Medical Humanities and Bioethics, Associate Dean for Minority and Cultural Affairs

Anthony Gacita


Francesca Gaiba

Research Associate Professor, Medical Social Sciences
Associate Director, Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing
Northwestern University

Khalilah Gates

Assistant Professor in Medicine-Pulmonary

Joshua Goldstein

Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Namratha Kandula

Associate Professor of Medicine-General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics, Preventive Medicine and Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences  

Samaa Kemal

MD, M3

Teresa Mastin

Director of Diversity and Inclusion

June McKoy

Associate Professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine, Program Director of the Geriatric Medicine Fellowship, Director of Geriatric Oncology

Matt Messbarger

Library Assistant
Galter Health Sciences Library

Anita Munoz

Business Coordinator of Diversity and Inclusion

Beverly Onyekewuluje

SNMA President

Jennifer Parker

Resident Physician,
Radiation Oncology
NMURFF President

Frank Penedo

Professor of Medical Social Sciences and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Lynn Ren


Melissa Simon

Vice Chair of Clinical Research at the

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology,

Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences

Peter Sporn

Professor of Medicine-Pulmonary and Cell and Molecular Biology, Director of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program

Linda Suleiman

Resident Physician, Orthopedic Surgery

Javier Andres SuarezLMSA
Nivaas ThanooMD, M1, Student Senate

Jill Thiel

Administrative Assistant to Dr. Yancy

Alexis Thompson

Sarah and A. Watson Armour Chair in Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders Hematology Section Head, Lurie Children’s Professor of Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine

Shaan Trotter

Administrative Director
Office of Equity and Minority Health
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Diane Wayne

Vice Dean of Education, Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor of Medicine, Chair of Medical Education

Yufan Yan

MD, M1

Clyde Yancy

Vice Dean of Diversity & Inclusion, Magerstadt Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Cardiology, Associate Director of the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute at Northwestern Memorial Hospital