Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Diversity and Inclusion

FSM Diversity and Inclusion Council

Our Diversity and Inclusion Council helps to shape the strategy of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. From the programs we initiate to the ways in which we engage alumni, students, and the community, our council members provide tremendous insight, guidance, and oversight. Meet our members below, and feel free to contact us to learn more about the role this council serves.

Diversity-council-2017-photo.jpg

Alhalel

Jonathan

MD/M2, co-President, Latino Medical Student Association

jonathan.alhalel@northwestern.edu

Bennett

Jabbar

Associate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer

Associate Professor of Medicine

jabbar.bennett@northwestern.edu

Bishop

Virginia

Assistant Professor Preventive Medicine

Assistant Director,

Latino Affairs and Community Engagement, 

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

vbishop@northwestern.edu

Bushara

Omar

MD/M2, co-President, Student National Medical Association

omar.bushara@northwestern.edu

Caicedo

Juan

Associate Professor,

Surgery, Transplant Surgery Division

jcaicedo@nm.org

Cajigas

Hector

Assistant Professor, Medicine Pulmonary

hcajigas@northwestern.edu

Carnethon

Mercedes

Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine

carnethon@northwestern.edu

Cohran

Valeria

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Medical Director of Intestinal Rehabilitation and Transplant

The Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

VCohran@luriechildrens.org

D'Aquila

Richard

Professor,

Medicine, Infectious Diseases Division

richard.daquila@northwestern.edu

Davis

Berkley

MD/M3, Student Senate Representative

berkley.davis@northwestern.edu

Francone

Nicolas

MD/M2, co-President, Latino Medical Student Association

nicolas.francone@northwestern.edu

Franklin

John

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Medical Education and Surgery (Organ Transplantation)

Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Student Support

jef@northwestern.edu

Gacita

Anthony

MD/PHD, G2

anthony.gacita@northwestern.edu

Gaiba

Francesca

Research Associate Professor, Medical Social Sciences
Associate Director, Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing

gaiba@northwestern.edu  

Gates

Khalilah

Assistant Professor in Medicine-Pulmonary

k-gates@northwestern.edu

Goldstein

Joshua

Associate Professor, Pediatrics

j-goldstein4@northwestern.edu

Holmes

Kristi

Director of Galter Health Sciences Library

kristi.holmes@northwestern.edu

Hong

Stephanie

President, MD/M2 President, APAMSA

stephanie.hong@northwestern.edu

Kandula

Namratha

Associate Professor of Medicine-General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics, Preventive Medicine and Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

nkandula@nm.org 

Kemal

Samaa

Pediatrics – Children’s Hospital – Philadelphia, PA

samaa.kemal@gmail.com 

Mastin

Teresa

Director of Diversity and Inclusion

teresa.mastin@northwestern.edu

McKoy

June

Associate Professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine, Program Director Geriatric Medicine Fellowship,
Director of Geriatric Oncology

JMcKoy@nm.org

Moreira

Jonathan

Assistant Professor of Medicine (Hematology and Oncology)

LMSA Faculty Advisor

jonathan.moreira@northwestern.edu

Morena-Mesa

Sofia

MD/M2 – President, Queers & Allies

amorenomesa@northwestern.edu

Munoz

Anita

Business Coordinator of Diversity and Inclusion

amunoz@northwestern.edu

Parker

Jennifer

Resident Physician,

Radiation Oncology

NMURFF President

jennifer.parker@northwestern.edu

Penedo

Frank

Professor, Medical Social Sciences

fpenedo@northwestern.edu

Simon

Melissa

Vice Chair of Clinical Research,

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology,

Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences

m-simon2@northwestern.edu

Sporn

Peter

Professor of Medicine, Cell and Molecular Biology, and Medical Education

Director, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program

p-sporn@northwestern.edu

Suleiman

Linda

Resident Physician,

Department of Orthopedic Surgery

Linda.Suleiman@northwestern.edu

Thanoo

Nivaas

MD/M2, Student Senate Representative

nivaas.thanoo@northwestern.edu

Thiel

Jill

Administrative Assistant to
Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, MACC, FAHA, MACP,
Vice Dean, Diversity and Inclusion

jithiel@nm.org

 

 

 

Thompson

 

 

 

Alexis A

Sarah and A. Watson Armour Chair in Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders Hematology Section Head, Lurie Children’s

Professor of Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine

a-thompson@northwestern.edu

Trotter

Shaan

Administrative Director,

Office of Equity and Minority Health

Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

s-trotter@northwestern.edu

 

Wayne

Diane

Vice-Dean, Education
Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor of Medicine

dwayne@northwestern.edu

Wu

Han-Wei Vincent

MD\MPH

han-wei.wu@northwestern.edu

Yancy

Clyde

Vice Dean, Diversity & Inclusion,
Magerstadt Professor of Medicine, Professor of Medical Social Sciences,
Chief, Division of Cardiology
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
& Associate Director, Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

c-yancy@northwestern.edu

Zeru

Meron

MD/M2, co-President, Student National Medical Association

alemtsehay.zeru@northwestern.edu