Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Diversity and Inclusion

FSM Diversity and Inclusion Council

Our Diversity and Inclusion Council helps to shape the strategy of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. From the programs we initiate to the ways in which we engage alumni, students, and the community, our council members provide tremendous insight, guidance, and oversight. Meet our members below, and feel free to contact us to learn more about the role this council serves.

NameTitleContact
Jabbar BennettAssociate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer Associate Professor of Medicinejabbar.bennett@northwestern.edu
Virginia BishopAssistant Professor of Preventive Medicine-Behavioral Medicinevbishop@northwestern.edu

Juan Caicedo

Associate Professor of Surgery-Transplant Surgery

jcaicedo@nm.org

Hector Cajigas

Assistant Professor, Medicine Pulmonary

hcajigas@northwestern.edu

Mercedes Carnethon

Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine-Epidemiology

carnethon@northwestern.edu

Tatiana Carrasquilla

MD, M1

tatiana.carrasquilla@northwestern.edu

Richard D'Aquila

Professor of Medicine-Infectious Diseases

richard.daquila@northwestern.edu

Berkley Davis

MD, M2, Student Senate Representative

berkley.davis@northwestern.edu

John Franklin

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Surgery-Organ Transplantation and Medical Education- Medical Humanities and Bioethics, Associate Dean for Minority and Cultural Affairs

jef@northwestern.edu

Anthony Gacita

MD/PHD, M2

anthony.gacita@northwestern.edu

Francesca Gaiba

Research Associate Professor, Medical Social Sciences
Associate Director, Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and Wellbeing
Northwestern University

gaiba@northwestern.edu

Khalilah Gates

Assistant Professor in Medicine-Pulmonary

k-gates@northwestern.edu

Joshua Goldstein

Associate Professor, Pediatrics

j-goldstein4@northwestern.edu

Namratha Kandula

Associate Professor of Medicine-General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics, Preventive Medicine and Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

namratha.kandula@nm.org  

Samaa Kemal

MD, M3

samaa.kemal.@northwestern.edu

Teresa Mastin

Director of Diversity and Inclusion

teresa.mastin@northwestern.edu

June McKoy

Associate Professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine, Program Director of the Geriatric Medicine Fellowship, Director of Geriatric Oncology

JMcKoy@nm.org

Matt Messbarger

Library Assistant
Galter Health Sciences Library

matt.messbarger@northwestern.edu

Anita Munoz

Business Coordinator of Diversity and Inclusion

amunoz@northwestern.edu

Beverly Onyekewuluje

SNMA President

beverly.onyekwuluje@northwestern.edu

Jennifer Parker

Resident Physician,
Radiation Oncology
NMURFF President

jennifer.parker@northwestern.edu

Frank Penedo

Professor of Medical Social Sciences and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

fpenedo@northwestern.edu

Lynn Ren

MD/PHD, M1

lynn.ren@northwestern.edu

Melissa Simon

Vice Chair of Clinical Research at the

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology,

Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences

m-simon2@northwestern.edu

Peter Sporn

Professor of Medicine-Pulmonary and Cell and Molecular Biology, Director of the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program

p-sporn@northwestern.edu

Linda Suleiman

Resident Physician, Orthopedic Surgery

Linda.Suleiman@northwestern.edu

Javier Andres SuarezLMSA co-presidentjavier.suarez@northwestern.edu
Nivaas ThanooMD, M1, Student Senate Representativenivaas.thanoo@northwestern.edu

Jill Thiel

Administrative Assistant to Dr. Yancy

jithiel@nm.org

Alexis Thompson

Sarah and A. Watson Armour Chair in Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders Hematology Section Head, Lurie Children’s Professor of Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine

a-thompson@northwestern.edu

Shaan Trotter

Administrative Director
Office of Equity and Minority Health
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University 

s-trotter@northwestern.edu

Diane Wayne

Vice Dean of Education, Dr. John Sherman Appleman Professor of Medicine, Chair of Medical Education

dwayne@northwestern.edu

Yufan Yan

MD, M1

Yufan.yan@northwestern.edu

Clyde Yancy

Vice Dean of Diversity & Inclusion, Magerstadt Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Cardiology, Associate Director of the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute at Northwestern Memorial Hospital

c-yancy@northwestern.edu