National Academy of Medicine

George Lundberg, elected 1992

George Lundberg

George D. Lundberg, MD, Clinical Professor of Pathology at Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine, is recognized internationally for his work in tropical medicine in Central America and Forensic Medicine in New York, Sweden, and England. His major professional interests are toxicology, violence, communication, physician behavior, strategic management, and health system reform. He is regarded widely as an early pioneer of the medical internet. 

Dr. Lundberg is past President of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists. For seventeen years, he was employed by the American Medical Association as Editor in Chief, Scientific Information and Multimedia with editorial responsibility for its 39 medical journals, American Medical News, and various Internet products, and the Editor of JAMA. In 1999, he became Editor in Chief of Medscape and now serves as the Editor in Chief of Medscape General Medicine. A frequent lecturer on internet medicine and health care reform, Dr. Lundberg is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.


Michael Fleming, elected 2005

Michael Fleming

Michael Fleming, MD, MPH, professor in Family and Community Medicine and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, was elected in 2005 to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.  He is also the director of the MSTP Program at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Fleming’s research and training focuses on behavioral interventions in community-based primary care practices. He has served as the principal investigator on more than a dozen National Institutes of Health grants and contracts related to phospholipids, alcohol biomarkers, chronic pain, fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, pharmacotherapy trials, and educational interventions. Fleming has had more than 135 peer-reviewed research papers in more than 40 publications since 2005.

He joined Feinberg in the fall of 2010 as a professor and vice chair for Research and Faculty Development. Before coming to Feinberg, he served as a professor of Family Medicine at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and held the position of director for the Pain and Inpatient Addiction Medicine consult services at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics.  He also was director of research, education, and career development programs at the University of Wisconsin Institute for Clinical and Translational Research.


Chad Mirkin, elected 2010

Chad Mirkin

Chad Mirkin, PhD, director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology and the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, and professor of Medicine-Infectious Diseases, came to Northwestern University in 1991 as an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry.

A world renowned nanoscience expert, he is known for the development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography, and contributions to supramolecular chemistry, nanoelectronics, and nanooptics. He is the author of more than 440 manuscripts and over 400 patents and applications, and the founder of three companies, Nanosphere, NanoInk, and Aurasense, which are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life science and semiconductor industries. He is a member of President Obama's Council of Advisors for Science and Technology.

He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2009 for the development of DNA programmable inorganic materials and dip pen nanolithography. He was elected in 2010 to the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.


Serdar Bulun, elected 2015

Serdar Bulun

Serdar Bulun, MD, chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine, has had a global impact on medicine through his research on the genetics and steroid biology of common gynecologic disorders endometriosis and uterine fibroids. He discovered the epigenetic basis of endometriosis and introduced aromatase inhibitors as a novel class of drugs to effectively treat it. He has also contributed significantly to the systems biology of hormone-responsive disorders of the breast, including cancer.

Dr. Bulun, also the John J. Sciarra Professor in Obstetrics and Gynecology, currently leads Northwestern’s Uterine Leiomyoma Research Center Program, which aims to identify novel targets for treating uterine fibroids. Widely recognized for pioneering molecular medicine in the field of gynecology, he has published more than 180 scientific articles including reports in top-ranked journals such as the New England Journal Medicine, Nature Medicine and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, as well as several specialty journals in reproductive endocrinology, and is the editor-in-chief of Seminars in Reproductive Medicine.

Dr. Bulun is also a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, and he served as the 2015 president for the Society for Reproductive Investigation. His work has been honored with notable awards including the National Institutes of Health MERIT award and the American Society of Reproductive Medicine Distinguished Researcher Award.